fb pixel
People On Foot

Different state, different pedestrian law

rrfb_pic_2Not all pedestrian laws are created equal. There’s laws that require a motorist to yield, some that specify that drivers stop and then there’s differences between a controlled (typically “marked”) crosswalk and uncontrolled crosswalk, (oftentimes “unmarked.”)

To further drive home the point that pedestrian laws vary – of the 50 states, nine states and the District of Columbia require motorists to stop when approaching a pedestrian in an uncontrolled crosswalk. Minnesota mandates that a motorist stop when a pedestrian is in any portion of the roadway. Six states and also D.C. require a motorist to stop when a pedestrian is upon the same half of the roadway or within one lane of the lane that the motorist is traveling upon. The differences go on and on, but you get the idea. For more complete pedestrian laws in each state, click here.

If you’re visiting another state, don’t assume the pedestrian law is the same to what you’re used to. So to help you out, here’s what you need to know for each of the 50 states and D.C.

Here’s where drivers must stop:

  • In any portion of the roadway – Minnesota.
  • Upon roadway/within one lane the vehicle is travel – D.C., Georgia, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey (only in marked crosswalks), Oregon and Washington.
  • Upon the same half of the roadway/approaching from the other side to constitute danger – Hawaii and Illinois.

Here’s where drivers must yield:

  • In any portion of the roadway – Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, Main, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey (in unmarked crosswalks), New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
  • Same half – Louisiana.
  • Same half/approaching from opposite side of the roadway – Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and West Virginia.
  • Same half/one lane – Nebraska.
  • Same half/10 feet – Massachusetts.
Tags: , ,